Our Board

Cherie Rowland, President

Cherie Rowland is a licensed clinical social worker who has spent much of her career working with women. She is dedicated to serving the disadvantaged, and has established successful programs to help homemakers enter the workforce and to help homeless veterans. She served as the founding chairwoman for Women for FSU, an initiative that was started by the FSU Foundation in 2009. Cherie

Caroline Kienzle, Vice-President

Carrie is a retired librarian. She has served in Texas as Director of Learning Resources, Irving ISD, 2003-2006; Director Library & Media Services, Irving ISD, 1996-2003; Lead Librarian, Coppell High School, 1994-96, Coppell ISD; Library Media Specialist, Carroll Elem., Carroll ISD, 1992-94; Library Media Specialist, Carroll MS, Carroll ISD, 1991-92. Her education is: Masters of Library & Information Science, University of North Texas, 1993; Bachelor of Arts, Double Major, History and Education, University of Rhode Island, 1972.

Shannon Bothwell, Secretary/Treasurer

Shannon is a licensed Florida attorney who worked at large firms for 20 years serving clients in the real estate and financial services industries. She has served on several other charitable boards for community organizations as well as her university, where she sits on the board of visitors for the library system. Shannon received a BA in economics and philosophy from Wake Forest University in 1998 and a JD from Yale Law School in 2001.

Mason Bean, Director

Mason is an active Florida real estate broker with Century 21 Collins Realty on St. George Island. He is also a state licensed residential contractor and owned his own contracting firm for 15 years. Mason is an active community volunteer having served as Chair of the Franklin County, Planning and Zoning Board, Chair of the Franklin County contracting licensing board, President of the Florida Seafood Festival, President of the Apalachicola Bay Area Chamber of Commerce, President of the Realtor’s Association of Franklin and Gulf Counties, President of the St. George Island Civic Club, Chief of the SGI Volunteer Fire Dept./First Responders and is presently Chair of the Building Committee, Habitat for Humanity, Franklin County. He is a graduate of Florida State University with a BS Degree in Education.

Marie Q. Marshall

Marie is a retired teacher having been licensed to teach in New York, Massachusetts and Florida. She was Manager of the Franklin County Clinic and statewide Community Liaison for Nemours Primary Care Clinics; Executive Director of Bay, Franklin and Gulf Counties Healthy Start Coalition (for children 0-5); President. Marie directs the Historic Apalachicola Foundation and has experience with numerous Franklin County non-profit organizations. She has a B.A. in Speech-English, College of New Rochelle and an M.S. degree in Education, Fordham University.

Mrs. WattsMichaelin Reamy Watts

Michaelin has been a teacher throughout her adult life beginning with Red Cross and YMCA swimming, and later nutrition and 9th grade science in New York State (1957-1961). From 1979-1998 she practiced as a Licensed Clinical Social Worker and Licensed Marriage and Family Therapist in Georgia and served for many years as the Director of Extra-mural Training at The Atlanta Institute for Family Studies and Adjunct Associate Clinical Professor at Georgia State University. She holds a B.S. with Distinction from Cornell University (1960) and a Masters in Social Work (M.S.W.) from the University of Georgia 1979.

Dave WattsDavid H. Watts

Dave is a retired chief executive of a major publicly owned construction company. He has been in the construction business for 45 years following service in the U. S. Navy UDT/SEAL Teams. He is a graduate of Cornell University with a B.A. degree in economics. Dave has extensive non-profit experience with Boy Scouts of America, university advisory boards, community foundation, hospital board and the California Chamber of Commerce.

Val WebbValentina Webb

Valentina is the director of the Holy Family Senior Center in Apalachicola, coordinating a wide variety of services for seniors in our community ranging from meal deliveries to exercise and wellness classes to social activities. She previously worked as a case manager at CareerSource Gulf Coast. Valentina is dedicated to improving the lives of people in our community through education, career advancement, and services for the disadvantaged.